Danudin's 2010 VPW Blog

Themed Photographs 2010

As Halloween Approaches

Posted by danudin on October 29, 2010

We don’t generally follow the American Practice of celebrating all Hallows in Australia, although it is becoming slightly more popular with the US TV influence. But the concept of scaring young children is a universal theme, I think. When I was a kid, Snugglepot and Cuddlepie was a slightly scary book written by an Aussie Author May Gibbs which I still have fond memories of. The main Protagonists were the Bush Babies of the title who lived in Gum Nuts and wore Eucalyptus leaves as their only apparel. The scary bits were provided by the Banksia men. I went for a walk the otherday and snapped a few examples to whet your appertites. Look up the books, your small children and grandchildren will fall in love with the stories.

7 Responses to “As Halloween Approaches”

  1. ~Val said

    How interesting to read of a children’s book you enjoyed, filled with trees and characters I’ve never heard of. The photos are a great accompaniment. Is the first picture a Gum Nut tree?

    • danudin said

      Val “A Gum Nut” is the seed pod of the Eucalyptus tree, comes in about 1400 varieties, and is just so Aussie it isn’t funny, there is even a song “Give me a home among the Gum Trees”! The warm feeling on the book comes from Mum reading it to me I guess.

  2. Tammy McChesney said

    I need to look that book up…always looking for something new for the nieces and nephews…if it was endearing to you, it should work for them! Love you pictures, I can almost picture the characters climbing in that tree~

  3. This is so wonderful, Ron. I always love to see the plants and animals that you see everyday. I loved hearing about your favorite childhood book, also.

  4. Sherrie said

    Hi Ron,
    Thanks for the info on your favorite book. I’m always looking for new books to read. Now that I have grandbabies I’ll be looking for children’s books too. Great pictures of the critters and fauna. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  5. PatB said

    Bush Babies sound familiar to me… I’m off to investigate the stories. Interesting post Ron.

  6. Ellen said

    Fun and they sound like fine books. Did these books have anything to do with your attitude toward flowers?

Leave a Reply

 
