Danudin's 2010 VPW Blog

Themed Photographs 2010

Stow-Away

Posted by danudin on September 5, 2010

Returning home from my Thursday night Darts Game, which is played in an area backing onto a bushy wetlads area, where the parking spot I chose is quite overgrown. I parked the car in the garage and as I turned from shutting the tilt-a-door, I found a itty bitty stow-away. He was sitting on the back bumper of thhe car, but jumped around as I tried to photograph himand due to that and the darkness, my first 5 shots were failures, he was so quick! This one in a dark part of the garage required flash and yes it is blown out – Don’t Care! I got the shot and the colour just as we saw him. Then he was gone couldn’t find him any where; So I put the camera away and went inside, next minute Sally said “He is in here!” and sure enough he was on the wall near the toilet door being closely watched by Snow the dreaded Gecko killer. Inside he seemed a tad greener, so I can only assume that he had jumped onto my trousesand came in with me. To protect him from the cat I put a clean empty jar over him and re-located him to out patio where Sally has some hanging (Self watering) planters where frogs have resided before. Hopefully he will set himself up in his new home (By Choice). I would guesstemate that he was maybe a quarter inch long, No More, I cropped the second shot to get the close-up but included both to show how tiny he was.

7 Responses to “Stow-Away”

  1. Tammy McChesney said

    Didn’t your mom teach you to never pick up hitchhikers? πŸ™‚ I have to admit, he is a rather cute little stow away! Hopefully he hooks up w/ the plants so we can see his new home!

  2. Doris P. said

    Oh my gosh, he is so cute! Can’t believe how tiny he is. Glad Snow didn’t have him for dinner. Great flash shots. Better than I could do!!

  3. ~Val said

    I’m picturing you two, chasing this little guy…funny mental picture. πŸ™‚

  4. He’s such a cute itty-bitty fella! A quarter inch in size – that’s not even an appetizer for Snow!

  5. Erica said

    Amazing you even saw him, small as he is. And your shot looks great enlarged- nice job. I love how silvery his skin looks- very cool. Would be fun if you could revisit him on your patio!

  6. Sheila said

    Nice catch Ron!

Leave a Reply

 
