Danudin's 2010 VPW Blog

Themed Photographs 2010

Roma St – Train – Redcliffe

Posted by danudin on August 6, 2010

The Rock photo I first posted had this monument behind it, commemorating the alliance between the South Vietnamese Army and the Australian Army during that conflict. Wasn’t sure how to post it, but we are in the throes of a General Election right now so I though it gave me a chance to beat my gums (or fingers) about Bloody Politicians. The Train (Actually an Inter or Intra State Locomotive) not the Electric rattler I rode on my way back to Redcliffe, was opposite me as I waited. Back in Redcliffe is a painterly rendition of the Anzac Memorial near the Redcliffe Jetty.

Now the tie-in These Memorials commemmorate people who did something, the thrain does indicate that I think Politicians “Railroad” the voting Public. Because once again the Old Red Herring promise of a Rail Link to Redclife has been refloated by the ever anxious Labor Governments. Both State and Federal. And it just ain’t gonna happen. This little bit of fantasy was first mooted way back in 1895, and they have been pedalling the same Tripe every election since. Now voting is compulsory here in Australia, and I think it is right that it be so cause people who don’t vote are always the first to complain about the sorry excuses that we voters do elect, but really do they think that we  are that gullible?

I think I will rush out to the Redclffe Railway station (I featured it a fair while back) and buy my ticket right now. I think it was Mayor Daley who said “Vote Early – Vote Often” but this isn’t Cjicargo, and the Pollies better remember it.

5 Responses to “Roma St – Train – Redcliffe”

  1. Sherrie said

    Hi Ron,
    Lovely pictures. It seems politics is the same everywhere. Politicians shafting the everyday people. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  2. Chesney said

    Sounds like a typical politician….and how wonderfully your images illustrate that (of course, with your commentation)! 🙂

  3. Ron, I don’t even want to talk about politicians! That train shot is fabulous with the color patterns, and I love all of the different shades of blue in the war memorial.

  4. Judi Clark said

    The train photo is fabulous… good repeating bright colors.

  5. ~Val said

    I really like the processing on the third photo. It’s kind of soft and dreamy – perfect for the subject.

Leave a Reply

 
