Danudin's 2010 VPW Blog

Themed Photographs 2010

Ron’s Light Experiment

Posted by danudin on July 15, 2010

First off I have to say that I still have a few shots to show of my 1st test walk, and a heap on new ones from yesterday’s Brisbane Test walk, but yesterday I got blown away by one of Rob Weiher’s Light experiments HERE, and when I got home from Brisbane and saw the Moon and Venus so beautifully arrayed in the low western sky, I could not resist trying one of the tricks I learned from him last year. So please excuse thin ineregnum and let me know what you think, Normal Transmission will be resumed shortly. These shots were all tahenin Manual Mode, with an ISO of 400 with my 50mm lens at shutter speeds of 0.50 Sec, 5 Sec, 10 Sec, 15 Sec and 30 Sec exposures. I used a small LCD torch to luminate the palm tree by sweeping light across it’s fronds while the shutter was open. When I enlarged the last shot on my 24″ LCD monitor I was able to count 30 starts which is the most I have seen on a night shot from my driveway and the Moon was close to the horizon.

Love This Lens!

6 Responses to “Ron’s Light Experiment”

  1. ~Val said

    It’s fun playing with light, at night. Great effect…I like the last one. Can’t quite count 30 starts, but the moon & planet are definitely there!!

  2. Good idea to paint with light to add some foreground interest. I’ve never tried that technique.

  3. Tammy McChesney said

    I enjoy seeing what the different shutter speeds does to these images, my favorite is the last one! Ron, I think I may have learned something from you…scary huh?

  4. I’ve been watching the moon/Venus coming closer together every night. I have been busy with vacation Bible school in the evenings, so I haven’t been able to shoot anything yet. The moon is just a sliver now. I don’t have a tree to light up because the sky is just over some houses from our yard. Maybe if I cross the street into the park it will be a better position….
    Thanks for the inspiration!

  5. This is really interesting. Thank you for sharing this with us. I wish I saw this before I went away. You should have seen the stars in the sky at 3am when I took the dog out…. wow. It was too cold for me to set my camera up and I was way to tired to care….. next time.

  6. Judi Clark said

    Ron, this is fantastic experiment. That last picture is so very cool. Now I’m going to have to try this (if I ever get out from under all the email I missed while on vacation).

Leave a Reply

 
