Danudin's 2010 VPW Blog

Themed Photographs 2010

50mm Lens Test Continued

Posted by danudin on July 12, 2010

These shots were taken just a bit before the Wheelie shots I showed the other day. Please bear in mind that I was trying out the lens in as many different lighting conditions as I could find. I like the first shot here in spite of the construction works effect on the shore water and sand colour in general. I was really attracted to the lines and features of the Wall shots, but hope that explains why the wheelie shots were a tad blown out when he came on me so suddenly.

“Oh Yeah, Hey Julie, I forgot that Capt Cook named this place as he passed by in HMS Endeavour in 1770, and I guess that was the colour that made him call my area Redcliffe”

6 Responses to “50mm Lens Test Continued”

  1. Ah, so that explains the unique sand color. It does make for a lovely contrast with the pretty blue water. You’ll have to show us a photo of the cliffs that gave Redcliffe its name sometime.

    You certainly have worked out how to get the exposure right on this manual lens. More power to you for sticking with it! I think you and the lens are producing some really fine images together! πŸ˜‰ On the two shots where you show the walls at angles, I’d rather see the near part in focus rather than the far part and think that experimenting with changing the setting on the focus ring might be worthwhile. I know, I already yammered at you via email about this but thought perhaps others could give their opinion as to whether they would rather see the foliage at the far end of the wall in focus or the foliage at the near end in focus. Any opinions from Ron’s loyal following?

  2. Tammy McChesney said

    I too love that first shot…the colors are amazing! The construction part does have to go…couldn’t you have moved it for this picture? πŸ™‚

    I too love the lines you captured, in the 2nd image I think I would rather see the clarity first and then soft blur….in the 3rd shot you nailed the clarity of the texture in the wood, nice! And in the fourth shot I think I would rather see the clarity in the ivy…it looks like you are learning tons from your experimentation…keep it up!

    • danudin said

      This is the reason for the Virtual Photowalk (In My Mind) everyone learning or at least participating, I even prompted Julie to drag out her old film 50mm lens – dust it off and blow me outta the waterm with her smelly thing macro magic, Ha! let’s hope others go and experiment. I really am starting to feel more for the mechanics of photography that hopefully will improve my use of the AF lenses when this little test has reached it’s conclusion. For those who think the Journey is over – Bad News – Tons more to come.

  3. Sherrie said

    Hi Ron,
    Beautiful shot. I really like those vines cascading over the wall. Very pretty. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  4. ~Val said

    I’m with the girls, Ron; I’ve come to expect more focus in the foreground rather than background. The colors are clarity are quite nice. You are having fun experimenting!

  5. Patb said

    I sure do admire your perseverance with photography Ron, you really seem to enjoy working hard at it. And you are succeeding!

    My favourite is the third image, love all the texture of the wood and the lines.

Leave a Reply

 
