Danudin's 2010 VPW Blog

Themed Photographs 2010

Lucky Wheelie Shot

Posted by danudin on July 11, 2010

I had just finished shooting the wall behind me, and as close as I can remember, I had switched the focal length to infinity as I stepped away from the wall, and lucky I did as this guy was on me in a flash. I estimate around 20-30 KPH, I could have got a closer shot but had to ask his permission to use the shots, to which he just said “Go For It!” then he was gone, pumping hos arms like the devil was after him!

7 Responses to “Lucky Wheelie Shot”

  1. Judi Clark said

    So is it a paraplegic bicycle? He’s using his arms to move the wheel? Cool!

  2. KarenB said

    That’s a really interesting contraption – and you got a great shot of him up close. Nice smile!

  3. Tammy McChesney said

    I want one of those…but I am not sure I could get into (or out) of it! šŸ™‚ Fun series of shots, the close up is the best…I love that facial expression!

  4. Your experiments with this totally manual lens are interesting and the results you’re getting are commendable. I probably would have thrown up my hands in frustration by now!

    By the way, what is the true color of the sand there? Like in these shots or the one of the Eye Spy?

    • danudin said

      There is beach construction going on around the Jetty and about 600-800 metres up the beach and the sand has all been turned over and a lot darker that normal. This on though is a little blown out and therefore is a little too light, so that is hard to say.

  5. Ellen said

    I love that his gleeful face is most in focus. You do make your own luck in a way…

Leave a Reply

 
