Danudin's 2010 VPW Blog

Themed Photographs 2010

Danudin Located!

Posted by danudin on July 10, 2010

Some of the meaner WoW Systers have often wished that I would get LOST! Well sorry Ladies (is that the right word??) but yesterday I went out to try my E series 50mm 1:1.8 prime lens with no metering or AF. This is something I thought of in discussion with Grant Dixon, “Cropping with your feet” normally I use the 18-70mm lens with all the AF and zoom I need, so I thought I would use the prime to limit my options. And BOY is this an enlightening exercise. In trying to frame this shot of the Eye Spy Whale Watching Boat berthed at Redcliffe Jetty, I had to move to a situation that I had not been to before and found this GPS marker which I stood over to get the photo to the left. So now I can never get lost Ha Ha.

Now this lens is ancient and does not provide full exif details for the sho,t as the f/stop is displayed as a constant 1.00, which isn’t true as I generally varied between F4 and F5.6 Focal Length for the Jetty shot was set at infinity whereas the marker was at about 0.8, all done manually. I also had to manually adjust the shutterspeeds, 1/4,000 and 1/2,000 Sec respectively. This was new and although tiring it was really interesting having to use a normally idle muscle, (The one between my ears). There will be more of these coming, as I got some interesting results with this lens. Tomorrow a snap shot of a guy who came on me suddenly, when I had no time to adjust the lens and got just a little lucky!

3 Responses to “Danudin Located!”

  1. Madelaine said

    Looks like you’re off to a great start Ron! You’re braver than me. : )

  2. Tammy McChesney said

    You provide too much entertainment for any of us wanting you to get lost! LOL

    I love the composition of that first image…I love the foreground and how it leads out to that ship…very very nice!

  3. You’ve got some nice crisp detail in that first image Ron – very nice!

Leave a Reply

 
