Danudin's 2010 VPW Blog

Themed Photographs 2010

The Photographer and the Duck

Posted by danudin on July 9, 2010

As I was advancing up the storm water canal from Bramble Bay

heading towards Kippa Ring I came upon the first of the water that

had been through the reed bed that takes out all the impuroties

before the water is allowed to flow into the Eastern reaches of the

Pine River and then into Moreton Bay.

So I stopped thinking to get a shot of the water clarity and some of

the life living in it.  As I was trying to decide what to shoot, this

friendly Duck paddled up as it seems a lot of the local youth use

this spot to feed the birdlife on bread.  The friendliness waned quickly

when he realized that I had no bread, I mean a Duck can’t eat

a camera can it?

So haughtily turning his back he assured me that he needed me

not in the least, as he patrolled the water for whatever Nature

had provided.  This provided me with the opportunity to grab

three more cute shots that showed not only the water clarity,

but his superb swimming style and the ripples he created.

Does that make me mean or just opportunistic.

2 Responses to “The Photographer and the Duck”

  1. Tammy McChesney said

    Mean!! 🙂 I am sure if you had some bread he would have posed for you and gave you a great big smile! For not having any food you sure got some good shots though…and wow, I love how you can see to the bottom in that clean water!

  2. Great shots, Ron. I really like that you can see the bottom of the lake and the duck’s feet under the water. He looks a little bit mad at you.

Leave a Reply

 
