Danudin's 2010 VPW Blog

Themed Photographs 2010

Not All Sunny Days

Posted by danudin on June 15, 2010

Notwithstanding my insistence that winter in Queensland is generally better than summer in other ares. We went out for a ferry tour of the Pumice Stone Passage which separates Bribe Island from the mainland. When we boarded the Community Bus in Redcliffe, the rain was bucketing down, which prompted one of my fellow trekkers to ask “Aren’t you worried about getting wet on the ferry” and I replied “Don’t care for myself – But ain’t gonna get my camera wet”! By the time we got to the embarkation point, the rain had turned to Mizzle (Misty Drizzle) so I took the camera out of the three plastic bags it was wrapped in and I took this shot to show conditions. I like the way this turned out.

8 Responses to “Not All Sunny Days”

  1. It’s nice to see that paradise isn’t perfect!

    I like this shot too. At first I thought the relatively shallow depth of field was a detriment, but then I decided that it adds to the misty hazy feel.

    Glad you kept your camera protected. You two are real troopers to stick with the plan given the poor weather…

  2. It’s finally looking like winter time down there. Great perspective on this image. Looks like you are down in the water.

    I like the new look of your blog. It looks very masculine.

  3. Mary Lou said

    Great word…mizzle!! I like it!! Nice to see all these boats out on the water in the winter.

  4. Sherrie said

    Hi Ron,
    Great shot, I like the mizzle conditions. Gives the picture a little character. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  5. Judi Clark said

    I like how the boats are facing us..

  6. Tammy McChesney said

    What a great image…I love how you conveyed the dreary feeling through the image!

  7. PatB said

    Yes, there is something about this first image… the head-on perspective really appeals to me, as do the cool colours. Mizzle… will have to remember that term.

  8. Your mission to capture the mizzle is a smashing success!

Leave a Reply

 
