Danudin's 2010 VPW Blog

Themed Photographs 2010

Morning Tea

Posted by danudin on June 9, 2010

This is another attempt by me to step outside the box. I originally took it on a whim. I turned from snapping Redcliffe pier, and saw these boots. It took some for little Old (5’7″ 60yo) Me to ask three guys the smallest of which was around 6’4″ if I could take a photo of thier boots. I think they were from a High Rise construction site up the street, and I was tempted to snap the amount of food they were each consuming for morning tea, but thought they mist be strong to need that much fuel so didn’t push iy. As I said this was taken as a fun shot but the more I look at it the more I like!

9 Responses to “Morning Tea”

  1. I like that too. Kinda offbeat, but cool. What was your processing? It seems sort of edgy and appropriate for those hairy legs and well-worn boots.

    • danudin said

      Can’t remember other than I was trying to get the emphasis on the concrete dust on thier boots and legs, but recall that It gave the planking of the deck a raw look too. I think it was trying a high pass sharpening with high numbers got the end resulr. BTW what happened to your fern shot, wordpress seems to have lost it. I wanted to comment.

  2. Judi Clark said

    Ron, I think this is a fantastic shot! You should step outside the box more. Whatever you did for the processing, it really adds to the photo. I’ve heard that you should cut off body parts at the joints… which I think knees qualify. Anyway, this works.

  3. Tammy McChesney said

    This is fantastic and the processing really enhances the grittiness of the image…I can see this in a huge poster print! Very cool, keep stepping out of that box!

  4. Sherrie said

    Hi Ron,
    Awesome picture. I really like all the textures here. That patina on the table legs is great. Have a great day!

    We don’t drive on the wrong side of the road, well, to us anyway. I would have a wreck for sure if I drove in your small town.

    Sherrie

  5. Ron – you’re getting downright artsy on us! I just love this shot – the composition, the legs and table legs, the boots and the processing. It all really works together. So wonderful! Keep up the great work and shoot outside the box more often.

  6. Lorri said

    I like your boots shot, Ron. A nice departure from the usual line up with processing that really works for this image.

  7. PatB said

    This is great – very creative to spot the composition to begin with! Love the processing too. Yup, art – you should keep doing this sort of thing Ron, excellent!

Leave a Reply

 
