Danudin's 2010 VPW Blog

Themed Photographs 2010

And now for something completely Different!

Posted by danudin on May 29, 2010

I am off on a boat cruise this morning, even though the Rain woke me up at 3am, boy was it heavy, hope I get some shots any way. This is setting up for the next series of shots. Came out into the garden the other day and disturbed this monster amongst Sally’s smelly things, but was able to get these shots before she went trying to sqish it with a shovel, I was forced to delete those shots alas, but I ain’t as dumb as I look, they are gone! Alas!

11 Responses to “And now for something completely Different!”

  1. How big is that thing? Grasshoppers are some of the creepiest of insects, in my opinion. Nevertheless, these are kinda neat shots. My brain is playing tricks in the first one and I’m having trouble figuring out what the vertical lines are.

  2. It looks like it is holding on to some window vanes, hoping to become one with the background before Sally gets there. I have read that you are suffering from a surfeit of these bugs. Those jaws seem set to chomp…

  3. Tammy McChesney said

    Wonderful capture of the pesky critters…if they knew Sally I’d bet they would be quickly hopping away!! :0

  4. Ellen said

    One is sort of cool looking but I imagine there are lots more like it…

  5. Sherrie said

    Hi Ron,
    That’s one big grasshopper! Great shot. I also took a peek of your moon shots, those are awesome! Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  6. OK – nevermind… I just unpacked my bags. A 5″ grasshopper is pretty creepy – not something I want hopping on me! I really like that first shot with the interplay of colors – the background picks up the colors of the critter nicely.

  7. I love the second shot and am glad this is in your garden and not mine LOL.

  8. Catharine said

    Wow, great shot. I don’t think we ever get hoppers that big in Sweden….

  9. Wow! This does look like the grasshopper I just posted over on my blog. I love insects! Have you payed attention to the spikes on the back legs of these? Amazing creatures.

Leave a Reply

 
