Danudin's 2010 VPW Blog

Themed Photographs 2010

Brahminy Kite (Red Backed Sea Eagle)

Posted by danudin on March 25, 2010

If ever you contemplate a visit to Australia, I strongly suggest a Visit to the Noosa area. We stay at noosaville and these two shots were taken just in frony of our Motel which I have featured before, in a tree in the dog park I have enthused about previously. When I took these two shots, I thought my North American friends may be interested in these shots.

15 Responses to “Brahminy Kite (Red Backed Sea Eagle)”

  1. Nice capture Ron, that is so cool!!

  2. Tammy McChesney said

    It is no fair you always get to see the cool spots and the cool birds, I would think you would want to share w/ your friends….I will be checking the mail for my airline tickets! 🙂

  3. victry1 said

    Very interesting Ron. Looks somewhat like our bald eagle. The only way I will come and stay at Noosa is if you and yous are there also. 🙂 The Grand Canyon is well worth the trip, even if it’s not a treat!

    • danudin said

      I thought the resemblence was uncanny too, and if I had the cash, I want to ride a Donkey into and out of the grand canyon, , visit the Villages of the Anastasi, the Cree Burial Mounds on the Mississippi, Geronimoes Sun Dance circle and Pay respects at the resting place of Chief Joseph, my hero.

  4. ~Val said

    Awesome, Ron. We get a host of bald eagles in January around here. There’s a state part about an hour away where you can go view dozens of them, all at once. It’s pretty incredible.

    Thanks for thinking of us! 🙂

    • danudin said

      I don’t think these are as big, as Bald Eagles although our White Breasted Sea Eagle may be as I am told it is biggger than the Brahminy Kite. Our Biggest Raptor though is the Wedgetailed Eagle which have been found with up to two metre wing spans. Glorious creatures, that range over all of Australia. I have actually seen a cloud of them patrolling a scrub fire out west. Queenslan, Northern Territory Border area the cloud was maybe four to five acres in area and it blocked out the sun, Millions of them.

  5. Sherrie said

    Hi Ron,
    Awesome pictures. Are those Eagles? Beautiful birds. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  6. You take such astounding photos of birds. I’m borrowing a friends 100-400mm lens, but can I find a bird? Only a dove in our patio hanging flower basket…. I am trying to creep up on her, but finding it hard to focus on her instead of the flowers. I’ll have to visit my daughter’s home in an orchard. A hawk lives across the street from her.

  7. No fair – you get all the cool birds! We get seagulls and pigeons, sometimes referred to as flying rats. Nice capture on your cool birds!

  8. Doris P. said

    Wow, what a beautiful bird! Love the capture in flight, Ron. What a special place to vacation.

  9. Ellen said

    The white head does resemble a bald eagle, awesome shots Ron! Here (Washington State) the bald eagles have recovered so well that now there is concern that they are attacking and killing great blue herons in their rookeries.

  10. That is such a regal bird. I, too, am jealous of all the great birds and animals that you get to see. Thanks for sharing them with us.

Leave a Reply

 
