Danudin's 2010 VPW Blog

Themed Photographs 2010

Julie’s Blessing

Posted by danudin on March 8, 2010

The one person who has tried hard for the last 18 months to keep me on the straight and narrow (Photographically/Blogwise) Has been Julie, who offered to see what she could do with my blessing post in HDR. Which she did, taking up much of her valuable time and I thank her. In her reply emai,l she started by commenting that she knew how much I like colour, and as my internet connection is as slow as, I was expecting a B&W rendition, but no, she just used her superior artistic ability to show me how it should have been done, as a HDR, but I think that we both think the original, with maybe a bit of tinkering was a really good Photo. As a tribute, to her and My Main Man HDR Mentor “Boomer the Boy” I thought that I would produce a B&W version, as they both seem attracted to the effect. Well I tried but I am Sorry I just could not do it, and this is the best compromise I could make, having got the B&W version (YUK) I was forced to copy the original layer, above it,  and then cut the opacity down to next to nothing. I guess we all havre to know our own limitations, and this is as close as I am likely to come to a B&W Photo.

6 Responses to “Julie’s Blessing”

  1. Hey, Ron, I rather like that! Adding the lowered opacity color layer was a brilliant idea too. This shot makes me want to go downtown and shoot the parliament buildings. I think they may be in the same architectural style as your church.

  2. This is a great picture! I love the frame w/in the frame. The arch is amazing!

  3. Bobbie said

    I really like a muted “hand-tinted” sort of effect.

  4. Tammy McChesney said

    I love this with the hint of color Ron…I do have to say, this is one of your best! Perfect effect for this type of image! You did great!!!!

  5. ~Val said

    Swimming upstream here, but I still like the soft HDR from yesterday the best. I like seeing all your experiments, though. Learning process!!

Leave a Reply

 
