Danudin's 2010 VPW Blog

Themed Photographs 2010

Alone

Posted by danudin on February 8, 2010

Here are two shots of the same subject, “A Fisherman, almost waist deep in water about 300 yards from shore”. I was trying to point out that no matter what you do in modern life, You are never really alone, it is just a state of mind now days. In spite of the boats and birds passing near and far I hope our Angler got the solitude he so obviously desired. Oh how I envy people like Lewis and Clarke, or the Australian explorer Stuart, seeing things no-one at their times had seen before, this isn’t available to the common Joe these days, Hurry up and make space travel common place willYa!

9 Responses to “Alone”

  1. Tammy McChesney said

    Hmmmmmm….I love your take on this, at first I thought my favorite would be the first image, the fisherman standing there in the water looks very lonely, but then when I enlarged the second image I fell in love w/ your concept that we are never really alone….I like them both for very different reasons, but if I had to choose it would probably be the second image…very thought provoking!

    • danudin said

      Don’t get scared as I like the second one best too but as Sally pointed out, you can’t really see the fisherman in the second, so both are needed or at least complimentary, you know I always benefit by listening to Sally.

  2. Greg said

    Hey Ron…solitude is a good thing where ever you can get it. I like both images but like Tammy the second one gives me a greater feeling of being alone.

  3. I like the second image, too. And the frame you used on it is outstanding….

  4. Ellen said

    Ha! I like Sally even more now. I like these shots a lot too and I like the point you made so well. Plus I think that a shot of someone fishing is absolutely brilliant for the theme. πŸ˜‰

  5. ~Val said

    I like the frame treatment on both of these images. I think the 2nd photo is a better call for the theme…the bird looks alone, too. The first one is more of a stark contrast between solitary and team activities (or some such….)

Leave a Reply

 
