Danudin's 2010 VPW Blog

Themed Photographs 2010

Mini Assignment Composition Mixed Elements

Posted by danudin on February 1, 2010

When I first saw the Feb List I wanted to use this shot for “Alone” but checked the date (30 Jan) So I thought, “too good to ditch”, so I re-cropped it a little to bring out a lot of the elements of the composition assignments, that we have been working on for the last few weeks. To my eye there are three or four elements that fringe on the rule of thirds, there are leading lines that direct the eye quite effectively, the lone bird is framed by the clouds while at the same time not being seperated/ The layers of the clouds also seem to me give the whole photo good depth and tells you that the viewpoint of the bird is widespread. The splash of sunlit cloud also balances well with the darkness of the palm frond ;ower left. But trying to see it from the birds point of view there must be times when we would relish being alone, if only, we could be up there – doing THAT!

7 Responses to “Mini Assignment Composition Mixed Elements”

  1. Rachel said

    Wow, you really packed a lot of elements into that photo! The clouds are great and nice catch on the lone bird.

  2. Tammy McChesney said

    According to you, I am up there doing that every day! 🙂 I can see why you wanted to use this…it is just so heavenly! I think you nailed several composition rules to get this one (and I love the dimension in those clouds)!

  3. I think this would look great in B&W LOL, just kidding. Great job on this Ron, good start to the month!

  4. Yeah, that image is too good to waste. I would have posted it everyday with one of the compositions for the title…you could have covered a whole week I’m sure.

  5. Mission accomplished! Good work

Leave a Reply

 
