Danudin's 2010 VPW Blog

Themed Photographs 2010

First 2010 Posting Theme “Looking Down”

Posted by danudin on January 1, 2010

The Blue Moon Looking Down on the New Year! SOOC

This was taken Just after Midnight New Years Day, all I did was crop, border and add my new tag. ISO  200, Exp.  1/320, F/Stop F9, Focal Length (DX) 450mm and of course no flash.

Theme one posted for 2010.

30 Responses to “First 2010 Posting Theme “Looking Down””

  1. Bobbie said

    A wonderful beginning to a new year that hasn’t arrived here yet!

  2. Madelaine said

    Happy New Year & Happy Blogging! You only get a shot like that once in a blue moon!

  3. regularman said

    Nice start to the year Ron … I hope it’s a happy one for you.

  4. I can’t believe you stole my picture! I went out into my back yard and tried every setting on my camera to get this image!!!! Unfortunately, my camera with the lens I have didn’t show the moon like this when I looked at what I had captured…. I keep trying…..

  5. D. S. Fisher said

    Ah, lucky to have the weather cooperating, we had clouds. Very cool image of the blue moon! Wishing you a Happy & Healthy New Year.

  6. Happy New Year Ron, great blue moon shot, wish mine had turned out like yours.

    • danudin said

      Try White balance of flourescent (Discovered by accident) 6 months ago. Been saving it.

      • Scott Kelby has something about this in one of his books, relating it to that Sports Illustrated look. He said to use the Tungstun setting for an outdoor shot near dusk, but illuminate your subject with a flash which will give them a more natural, warmer golden glow.

  7. ~Val said

    Nice moon, Ron! My first post will be a moon, too. I’ll be interested to compare camera settings. I was experimenting to see which looked best. Happy New Year!

  8. Tammy McChesney said

    What a way to start out 2010….awesome shot…now I’m gonna be singin’ Blue Moon all day…
    Happy 2010 to you and Sally!

    • danudin said

      And to you abd Yours Tammy, when do the wine tasting tours get underway again? – After the snow clears?

      • Tammy McChesney said

        I tell you, I could use a tall glass of wine right about now…..first my photo printer breaks, now my computer crashed (I am using my son’s laptop), and now my hot tub froze (-16 degrees last night)….”Wine, take me AWAY” (oh, I guess that should be CALGON) 🙂

  9. Lucky you to have the opportunity to shoot this image – we had clouds and rain here – now I think they said I need to wait until 2028 for another December blue moon! The color you captured is terrific. Thanks for including the details on settings and lens too. That sort of info will be helpful to all of us still learning about our cameras.

    • danudin said

      We had clouds too but they are welcome as we need the rain, last year the dams were 21% this year 70+ Yippee.

  10. Sheila said

    Ron,

    What a great way to start! Loved the tip for white balance. We had snow so no way to see the moon for me! I look forward to being in the same discussion group with you!

    Sheila

  11. lijola said

    Leave it to you to get things rolling with a different spin! Great new site!!

  12. Ellen said

    A wonderful start to this adventure, I love the look of your new blog. Happy New Year to you and your family!

  13. Rachel said

    What a gorgeous shot, Ron and a perfect way to start off the new year and the new challenge. Happy New Year!

  14. Sherrie said

    Hi Ron,
    Awesome first picture!! At least is isn’t snowing and cold, I’m ready for spring, and it’s at least 4 months away!! Have a great new year!

    Sherrie

  15. Nan said

    Happy New Year! Great “Blue Moon”–it was raining where I was–didn’t even get to see it–nice that I can see it here! Your new blog looks good!

  16. morrdraken said

    Oh, such an awesome picture of the moon. I really like it and thank you for the tip about the white balance! /Viktoria (http://morrdrakensphotowalk.wordpress.com/)

  17. needlepointernc said

    Great shot Ron! I tried so hard to get a blue moon photo. Wish I lived down under! It was cold cold cold here and the moon didn’t rise until 2:00AM and then of course it rained New Year’s Eve. So, I will enjoy your shot. I would like to add it to my favorites if you don’t mind!

  18. oldbluedog said

    A great shot of a “blue moon”. Moon shots are hard to do, both of NASA and us photogs. Nice work.

  19. Vicki said

    Love your new blog, Ron. This is a very romantic picture! But I think you have a different view of the moon from your side of the planet – our side as more ocean!! 🙂

  20. zephyrkat said

    Great shot, Ron. Someday this amateur is gonna catch up! I will have to make that goal this year.

  21. Greg said

    I missed the Blue Moon on New Years Eve…clouded out again here in New Jersey. Thanks for sharing the Aussie version with us!

  22. pilgrim30 said

    Fabulous Ron – and especially for your first post of the new VPw2010! Great job. I am envious!

Leave a Reply

 
